MENU

Jacqueline West, Writer

Bestselling author and poet

Long Lost by Jacqueline West

Cover art by the Balbusso Twins

Coming May 2021 from Greenwillow/HarperCollins

Available for preorder from your local bookstore (via IndieBound) and Amazon.

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared. New York Times-bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and century-spanning tale.

Eleven-year-old Fiona has just read a book that doesn’t exist.

When Fiona’s family moves to be closer to her older sister’s figure skating club—and far from Fiona’s close-knit group of friends—nobody seems to notice Fiona’s unhappiness. Alone and out of place, Fiona ventures to the town’s library, a rambling mansion donated to the town by the long-dead heiress. And there she finds a gripping mystery novel about a small town, family secrets, and a tragic disappearance.

Soon Fiona begins to notice strange similarities that blur the lines between the novel and her new town. And when she looks for the book again, it’s gone. Almost like it never existed. With stubbornness and a little help from a few odd Lost Lake locals, Fiona uncovers the book’s strange history. It’s not a novel, but the true story of an unsolved century-old crime filled with clues to the mystery. Lost Lake is a town of restless spirits, and Fiona will learn that both help and danger come from unexpected places—maybe even the sister she thinks doesn’t care about her anymore.

New York Times-bestselling and acclaimed author Jacqueline West weaves a heart-pounding, intense, and imaginative mystery that builds anticipation on every page, while centering the strong and often tumultuous bond between sisters. Laced with suspense, Long Lost will fascinate readers of Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Secret Keepers, and fans of ghost stories.

Cover reveal and interview at From the Mixed-Up Files of Middle Grade Authors

The house is as much a character as are Olive, Morton, and her family, and a wicked sense of humor tempers the book's creepiness. A suspenseful plot and insight into childhood loneliness - handily amplified by Bernatene's moody and dramtically lit b&w illustrations - will have readers anxiously awaiting the next book.

- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Middle-grade writing as it should be."

- Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Beautifully written, deliciously scary..."

Buffalo News

West creates a delightful concoction of quirky humor blended with a rumbling ominous undertone...

- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred Review

Ms. West's deliberate choice of words and lyrical phrasing reveal her background as a poet. Her understated storytelling style, fast pacing and realistic heroine Olive are sure to please reluctant and experienced readers alike.

- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, October 5, 2010

THE SHADOWS is creative, exciting, hilarious, spooky, mysterious, adventurous, and heaps of fun, all wrapped between two covers.

- KidsReads.com

The fast moving plot aided by talking cats and excellent black and white drawings will grab the attention of even the most reluctant middle school reader. Laced with just the right amount of spookies and mystery, watching Olive put all the pieces together and overcome her fears is a delight.

- Monsters and Critics

A fantastic story full of magic and mysteries that starts when a young girl climbs into an old painting.

San Francisco Chronicle

"I found The Shadows mesmerizing, partly due to the story itself; partly due to Jacqueline West’s remarkable writing."

- San Francisco Book Review

Jacqueline West builds an eerie and mysterious world. A steady stream of details ensures that readers will continue turning the pages as they try to solve the mystery of Olive's house along with her.

- Junior Library Guild, Summer Selection

[West] has a knack for description and excellent prose. There’s a sense of the weird and creepy throughout the book, like in roald dahl’s best stories... I couldn’t wait to see what it said next.

- Forever Young Adult

This is an absolutely lovely read for the connoisseur of fantasy for the young... West's writing carries things along just swimmingly, with enough description to make things come alive in vivid detail without hindering the build-up of tension. I enjoyed it tremendously, and recommend it highly, and eagerly anticipate the next book.

- Charlotte ’s Library

West's writing is something special...She has woven the tension of a good mystery with magical touches that make this book sparkle. This is a book to be raced through and then read again...

- Kids Lit

Golly, this is a good read even if you’re seven times as old as you’re supposed to be.

- Dave Wood’s Book Report

[Olive is] an intrepid adventurer, the more charming for her determination to overcome her fears. West brings this launch title to a roundly satisfying close but leaves room for plenty more excursions to Elsewhere.

- Jennifer M. Brown, Shelf Awareness

With illustrations from Poly Bernatene enhancing the strong haunted house mystery, Jacqueline West provides an exhilarating middle school age tale.

- The Merry Genre Go Round Reviews, May 22, 2010

Still Life Cover


Contact Jacqueline:   Email   •      •      •   Mail



© Jacqueline West