MENU

Jacqueline West, Writer

Bestselling author and poet

Photo of author Jacqueline West

Jacqueline West is the author of the NYT-bestselling middle grade series The Books of Elsewhere, the YA novel Dreamers Often Lie, the middle grade fantasy The Collectors, YA novel Last Things, and the forthcoming middle grade novel Long Lost.

She is also the author of two poetry collections, Cherma and Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstitions, and her poetry and short fiction appear in a variety of publications.

She lives in Red Wing, Minnesota, with her family.

For more detailed info visit her About page.

Books by Jacqueline West

The Books of Elsewhere The Collectors Digging Up Danger Dreamers Often Lie Last Things


LONG LOST

Cover of Long Lost by Jacqueline West
Cover art by the Balbusso Twins

From Greenwillow/HarperCollins

- A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
- An Indie Next List pick

Available from your local bookstore (via IndieBound) and Amazon. You can also preorder LONG LOST from Red Balloon Bookshop for a signed copy.

"... A captivating narrative that draws the reader into two stories of two sisters living over a century apart... A spooky sisterhood mystery that is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy titles such as Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces, Ellen Oh’s Spirit Hunters, or Lindsay Currie’s Scritch Scratch." - School Library Journal, starred review

"In a spooky middle grade love letter to libraries and the mystery genre, West crafts a spellbinding exploration of sisterhood." - Publishers Weekly

"A spine-tingling brew of ghosts and half-forgotten mysteries...This has all the makings of a classic." - Stefan Bachmann, internationally bestselling author of The Peculiar

"Grab a flashlight and stay up late with this one." - Kirkus

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared. New York Times-bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and century-spanning tale.

Eleven-year-old Fiona has just read a book that doesn’t exist.

When Fiona’s family moves to be closer to her older sister’s figure skating club—and far from Fiona’s close-knit group of friends—nobody seems to notice Fiona’s unhappiness. Alone and out of place, Fiona ventures to the town’s library, a rambling mansion donated to the town by the long-dead heiress. And there she finds a gripping mystery novel about a small town, family secrets, and a tragic disappearance.

Soon Fiona begins to notice strange similarities that blur the lines between the novel and her new town. And when she looks for the book again, it’s gone. Almost like it never existed. With stubbornness and a little help from a few odd Lost Lake locals, Fiona uncovers the book’s strange history. It’s not a novel, but the true story of an unsolved century-old crime filled with clues to the mystery. Lost Lake is a town of restless spirits, and Fiona will learn that both help and danger come from unexpected places—maybe even the sister she thinks doesn’t care about her anymore.

New York Times-bestselling and acclaimed author Jacqueline West weaves a heart-pounding, intense, and imaginative mystery that builds anticipation on every page, while centering the strong and often tumultuous bond between sisters. Laced with suspense, Long Lost will fascinate readers of Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Secret Keepers, and fans of ghost stories.

Cover reveal and interview at From the Mixed-Up Files of Middle Grade Authors

News

- LONG LOST is a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

- Order LONG LOST from Red Balloon Bookshop for a signed copy

- LAST THINGS, Jacqueline's YA horror novel, is available everywhere in paperback and hardcover

Contact and Events

Jacqueline loves to meet with readers and writers of all ages. Her background in teaching makes her an approachable and enthusiastic speaker and writing workshop leader. See her current schedule of speaking events.

If you are interested in having Jacqueline visit your school, library, bookstore, or other organization, contact her at jacqueline@jacquelinewest.com for rates and availability.


Contact Jacqueline:   Email   •      •      •      •   Mail



© Jacqueline West