MENU

Jacqueline West, Writer

Bestselling author and poet

Photo of author Jacqueline West

Jacqueline West is the author of the NYT-bestselling middle grade series The Books of Elsewhere, the YA novel Dreamers Often Lie, the middle grade fantasy The Collectors, and the new YA novel Last Things.

She is also the author of two poetry collections, Cherma and Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstitions, and her poetry and short fiction appear in a variety of publications.

She lives in Red Wing, Minnesota, with her family.

For more detailed info visit her About page.

THE COLLECTORS: A STORM OF WISHES

Cover of The Collectors 2 by Jacqueline West

Coming October 22, 2019 from Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins

Pre-order now! IndieBound, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or wherever you buy books!

In the spellbinding sequel to New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West's The Collectors, eleven-year-old Van Markson embarks on a quest full of magic and adventure to rescue his best friend from a dangerous wish collector.

This contemporary fantasy is just right for fans of Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Secret Keepers and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.

It’s been only a few weeks since Van uncovered a magical secret—that wishes really can come true, and that a mysterious society called the Collectors protects us from the dire consequences even the smallest wish can have. Van knows only too well how wishing can go awry: his mother is recovering from a broken leg, his friend Pebble has been stolen away by the evil wish collector Mr. Falborg, dozens of dangerous creatures called Wish Eaters have escaped into the world, and Van himself has almost died—twice—all because of wishes.

When Van's mother is offered a position at the renowned Fox Den Opera, located in the quiet, beautiful forest a few hours north of the city, she whisks Van away with her, hoping this will be a safer home for their family of two. But Fox Den is home to an ancient Wish Eater—a powerful creature with the ability to grant wishes that have catastrophic consequences; a Wish Eater Mr. Falborg would love to get his hands on. Van must team up with the Collectors and find a way to stop him before he makes a wish that leaves the world in chaos.

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West takes readers on an adventure with magic woven through every page. Fans of Cassie Beasley's Circus Mirandus and Robert Beatty's Serafina and the Black Cloak will love the thrilling conclusion to the magical journey begun in The Collectors.

"...Van and readers both must question right and wrong in a fairy tale in which the good guys use questionable methods and the monsters might not be so monstrous after all. A warm and enchanting read."
-Kirkus

Learn more about The Collectors

LAST THINGS

Cover of Last Things by Jacqueline West

A new YA novel from Greenwillow/HarperCollins - buy it in a book store today, or order it from IndieBound, Barnes & Noble, or Amazon

"Last Things is at once poetic and urgent, evocative and authentic, everything I love in a book.” - Victoria Schwab, author of #1 New York Times bestseller This Savage Song

“I devoured this book in a day. Last Things is the kind of taut, atmospheric thriller that gets your heart racing and sets your imagination on fire. Sensational.”—Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

"Hand this worthy addition to any YA collection to fans of mystery, music, and horror." - School Library Journal

"A suspenseful tale wrought from power chords, creeping darkness, and disquieting twists." - Kirkus

"West uses evocative language, including song lyrics, to enhance the ominous atmosphere in this updated Faustian thriller; her pitch-perfect depiction of music conjures pulse-pounding concerts and Anders’ passion for metal. A dark and lovely saga." - Booklist

"Last Things is more than an homage to a legendary tale. It’s an expert reinvention that stands wholly on its own. And yes, you’ll want to leave the lights on." - Book and Film Globe

Learn more about Last Things

News

-Watch the Minneapolis screening of the 2019 90-Second Newbery film festival, cohosted by Jacqueline (and featuring live singing!)

-The Collectors has been named a Schneider Family Honor Book!

- The Collectors is a finalist for the Minnesota Book Awards!

- The Story Pirates Present: Digging Up Danger is now available in bookstores everywhere

- Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstitions has been selected for the preliminary ballot for the Bram Stoker Awards

Contact and Events

Jacqueline loves to meet with readers and writers of all ages. Her background in teaching makes her an approachable and enthusiastic speaker and writing workshop leader. See her current schedule of speaking events.

If you are interested in having Jacqueline visit your school, library, bookstore, or other organization, contact her at jacqueline@jacquelinewest.com for rates and availability.


Contact Jacqueline:   Email   •      •      •   Mail



© Jacqueline West