MENU

Jacqueline West, Writer

Bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere and Dreamers Often Lie

Still Life

The Books of Elsewhere, Volume Five

Still Life cover

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series - absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight - watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations - and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

Recognition for The Books of Elsewhere, Volume Five: Still Life

"A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series."

- Kirkus

"The Books of Elsewhere end as they’ve developed—with imagination, a creative heroine, engaging characters, and those wonderful cats!"

- Kids' Indie Next List, summer 2014

"STILL LIFE is like a firework finale. It'll make you "Oh" and "Ah" as the writer increases the intensity of the book to its final crescendo... There are twists and turns that will have readers guessing, and surprises are abundant."

- KidsReads.com

"A dark but delightful end to [the] well-drawn fantasy series."

- CommonSense Media

"The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. . . . Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage."

- SLJ

"This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support...Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. Order the series."

- VOYA (Starred Review)

"This exciting book will have you on the edge of your seat."

- Newsday

"Still Life winds up the McMartin saga with emotional complexity and suspense, and the denouement of the tale is generous and joyful."

- Minneapolis Star Tribune

Order it today:

Independent Book Stores Indiebound

Buy Still Life from Powell's Books

Buy Still Life from Barnes and Noble

Buy Still Life from Amazon.com

Buy The Books of Elsewhere from iBooks for Apple

Buy Still Life from Google Play Bookstore

Buy Still Life from Audible.com

Linden Street
Books of Elsewhere games and puzzles

 

The Shadows
Volume 1

Spellbound
Volume 2

The Second Spy
Volume 3

The Strangers
Volume 4

Still Life
Volume 5

 

The house is as much a character as are Olive, Morton, and her family, and a wicked sense of humor tempers the book's creepiness. A suspenseful plot and insight into childhood loneliness - handily amplified by Bernatene's moody and dramtically lit b&w illustrations - will have readers anxiously awaiting the next book.

- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Middle-grade writing as it should be."

- Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Beautifully written, deliciously scary..."

Buffalo News

West creates a delightful concoction of quirky humor blended with a rumbling ominous undertone...

- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred Review

Ms. West's deliberate choice of words and lyrical phrasing reveal her background as a poet. Her understated storytelling style, fast pacing and realistic heroine Olive are sure to please reluctant and experienced readers alike.

- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, October 5, 2010

THE SHADOWS is creative, exciting, hilarious, spooky, mysterious, adventurous, and heaps of fun, all wrapped between two covers.

- KidsReads.com

The fast moving plot aided by talking cats and excellent black and white drawings will grab the attention of even the most reluctant middle school reader. Laced with just the right amount of spookies and mystery, watching Olive put all the pieces together and overcome her fears is a delight.

- Monsters and Critics

A fantastic story full of magic and mysteries that starts when a young girl climbs into an old painting.

San Francisco Chronicle

"I found The Shadows mesmerizing, partly due to the story itself; partly due to Jacqueline West’s remarkable writing."

- San Francisco Book Review

Jacqueline West builds an eerie and mysterious world. A steady stream of details ensures that readers will continue turning the pages as they try to solve the mystery of Olive's house along with her.

- Junior Library Guild, Summer Selection

[West] has a knack for description and excellent prose. There’s a sense of the weird and creepy throughout the book, like in roald dahl’s best stories... I couldn’t wait to see what it said next.

- Forever Young Adult

This is an absolutely lovely read for the connoisseur of fantasy for the young... West's writing carries things along just swimmingly, with enough description to make things come alive in vivid detail without hindering the build-up of tension. I enjoyed it tremendously, and recommend it highly, and eagerly anticipate the next book.

- Charlotte ’s Library

West's writing is something special...She has woven the tension of a good mystery with magical touches that make this book sparkle. This is a book to be raced through and then read again...

- Kids Lit

Golly, this is a good read even if you’re seven times as old as you’re supposed to be.

- Dave Wood’s Book Report

[Olive is] an intrepid adventurer, the more charming for her determination to overcome her fears. West brings this launch title to a roundly satisfying close but leaves room for plenty more excursions to Elsewhere.

- Jennifer M. Brown, Shelf Awareness

With illustrations from Poly Bernatene enhancing the strong haunted house mystery, Jacqueline West provides an exhilarating middle school age tale.

- The Merry Genre Go Round Reviews, May 22, 2010

Still Life Cover


Contact Jacqueline:   Email   •      •      •   Mail



© Jacqueline West